Magical Writing: The Catcher in the Rye

“The funny thing is, though, I was sort of thinking of something else while I shot the bull. I live in New York, and I was thinking about the lagoon in Central Park, down near Central Park South. I was wondering if it would be frozen over when I got home, and if it was, where did the ducks go. I was wondering where the ducks went when the lagoon got all icy and frozen over. I wondered if some guy came in a truck and took them away to a zoo or something. Or if they just flew away.” – p.13

“I remember I asked old Childs if he thought Judas, the one that betrayed Jesus and all, went to Hell after he committed suicide. Childs said certainly. That’s exactly where I disagreed with him. I said I’d bet a thousand bucks that Jesus never sent old Judas to Hell. I still would, too, if I had a thousand bucks. I think any one of the Disciples would’ve sent him to Hell and all-and fast, too-but I’ll bet anything Jesus didn’t do it. Old Childs said the trouble with me was that I didn’t go to church or anything.” -p. 100

1 Comment

Filed under Children's Literature, Magical Writing

One response to “Magical Writing: The Catcher in the Rye

  1. kelsey

    weird, an UWS blog i read just posted about where the central park animals go in the winter. sophomore ap english taught me that holden’s ducks are a metaphor, but for your real answer: http://www.centralparknyc.org/about/news/central-park-news/ask-the-conservancy-winter.html

Leave a Reply

